SDCCD trustees welcome two new, returning members

Sean Elo, Craig Milgrim and Maria Nieto Senour all took the oath of office.


The SDCCD board of trustees held its final meeting of the year in which it swore in two new members. By Jonny Rico

Jonny Rico, Editor-in-Chief

The San Diego Community College District welcomed two new board of trustees members in addition to welcoming back its president on Thursday evening at the district offices in Mission Valley.  

President pro tempore of the California State Senate, Toni Atkins, administered the swearing in of Board of Trustees President Maria Nieto Senour after she won re-election in District A on Nov. 6.

Maria Nieto Senour and Toni Atkins
California State Senate President pro tempore Toni Atkins conducted the swearingvin ceremony for retuning SDCCD president Maria Nieto Senour. By Jonny Rico

“It is a great honor to be sworn in by one of the most powerful women in America,” said Nieto Senour following her oath.  

Atkins also had kind words for SDCCD board president, saying it was her honor to issue the oath of office to someone who had mentored so many women, including herself.

In addition to Nieto Senour, two new members took the oath. Sean Elo, who had a very narrow and high profile win over former San Diego city councilman David Alvarez, took the oath, administered by his predecessor Peter Zschiesche.

Retired SDCCD board member Peter Zschiesche passed the torch to Sean Elo by conducting his swearing in ceremony. By Jonny Rico

“I really appreciate Trustee Zschiesche,” said Elo, who made his first official remarks as a board member. “Not just for swearing me in, but (for) the multiple coffees he’s had with me to help prepare me and slowly but surely get me up to speed.”  

Craig Milgrim was also sworn in as a new member of the board of trustees. His oath of office was administered by fellow board member Mary Gram.