SDCCD board of trustees set, David Alvarez concedes to Sean Elo

Sean Elo will be the representative for District E.


Sean Elo is the third member of the San Diego Community College District board of trustees elected on Nov. 6. Courtesy photo.

Jonny Rico, Editor-in-Chief

The San Diego Community College District has its final board of trustees member.

Sean Elo will be the representative for District E after beating out San Diego city Councilman David Alvarez.

Maria Nieto Senour, Ph.D.
Maria Nieto Senour, Ph.D. SDCCD photo.

District chancellor Constance Carroll announced Elo as the final board member on Nov. 15 through an email alert to district employees.

“As you know, the race in District E was too close to call on election night,” Carroll wrote. “However, as the daily election updates were released from the Registrar of Voters Office, Sean Elo was shown to have a widening lead over David Alvarez.”

A day earlier, Alvarez told Voice of San Diego that he conceded to Elo.

The councilman had been trailing by nearly 5,000 votes more than a week after the election, according to the county Registrar of Voters.

Craig Milgrim
Craig Milgrim. SDCCD photo.

Elo serves as the executive director of San Diego Youth Development Office, a position he took weeks before the election, according to Elo’s Twitter account.

Joining Elo as a first-time trustee is former Grossmont Community College biology professor Craig Milgrim.

Milgrim won his election against Loren Seth Causto with over 65 percent of the vote.

Also successful in her race was board of trustees president Maria Nieto Senour, who beat out opponent Diane Hickman. Nieto Senour will serve her seventh term as a member of the board of trustees.

“We’ve done a lot of good things on this board,” said Nieto Senour before the September board meeting, which was held at San Diego City College. “We were ahead of other districts around diversity issues.”